Establishing good classroom behaviour management skills

One of my concerns when going on professional experience was my bank of classroom behaviour management skills. I have worked previously in a prep classroom and have learnt some great ideas from the teachers. I know that prep students don’t have the longest attention span and that they like movement time between activities. So how do I incorporate this into my teaching. Singing action songs as a transition activity often works well as singing is enjoyed by most children and the actions allows the children some movement helping them to refocus and prepare for learning. Using simple action direction like hands on heads when completed the activity is another good strategy as it allows the teacher to easily see who is finished and it gives the students an opportunity for movement and keeps their hands occupied. This is a great article that also offers other practical ideas for classroom behaviour management which I can also implement into my teaching http://topnotchteaching.com/experts/behaviour-management-strategies/

Leave a Reply

