Are Apps really educational or just for fun?

When exploring the world of apps it is just so overwhelming. When you type in a search idea you are then presented with so many options but how do you know if the apps are educational for your children. For me as a parent I tend to allow my children to use the Ipad as a down time activity though still wanting it to have some educational value. My children tend to guide me in the decision in what apps we download and these suggestions mainly come from what their peers are playing or something they have done at school. So to guide myself I decided to google and search for articles relating to the educational value of apps. I found that research says that there has been few studies but the short answer is that interactive screen time has potential for teaching children. I enjoyed reading this article relating to the educational value of apps: http://www.slate.com/articles/technology/future_tense/2012/05/interactive_screen_time_for_kids_do_educational_ipad_apps_teach_toddlers_anything_.html

Leave a Reply

